In My Fuzzy Neighborhood

In My Neighborhood: Interview with K. M. Jackson

kwana-author-small

In My Fuzzy Neighborhood today is New Yorker native, K.M. JACKSON. She has won RWA NYC’s Golden Apple Author of the Year Award and is a daily advocate for #WeNeedDiverseRomance. She currently lives in a suburb of New York with her husband, twins, and a precocious terrier named Jack that keeps her on her toes. Visit her online at kmjackson.com, on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/KmJacksonAuthor or follow her on Twitter @kwanawrites. Her latest novel, ROMANCING THE FASHIONISTA is available now.

KJ: Hi Teresa. Thank you so much for having me. It’s a real honor.

FF: Thank you for being here. Let’s jump right into the interview.

FF: Can you tell us 4 words that describe your writing style?

KJ: Plotster, stressful, surprising, and fun.

FF: Do you have a writing process? If yes, briefly explain.

KJ: I have a writing process that’s always evolving. I’m forever working on trying to perfect my process, but really I guess for me it’s not about perfection. I plot by scene, but always as I’m writing my characters come through and surprise me. It’s a lot of fun.

FF: Why do you write books?

KJ: I write because I can’t seem to stop these pesky stories from creeping into my mind and the only way to get them to stop nudging me is to write them out.

FF: What genre do you write in? Which genre is your favorite?

KJ: My writing genre is mainly romance but I to cross over into women’s fiction with a high level of romance. As with life, love is always a strong force in my stories.

FF: Describe your ideal place of escape to write your books.

KJ: My ideal place would probably be a place I don’t have right now. Some beautiful office with a view of tropical water with a cool breeze coming through the open window. As it is right now an ideal place would be anyplace that I can tune out the noise of the everyday and just get lost in my stories.

FF: Tell us about your current book.

KJ: My latest book out is a romantic comedy called: ROMANCING THE FASHIONISTA out this past May from Samhain Publishing. Here is a little bit about ROMANCING:

romancingthefashionista-cover-final-72lgManhattan fashion maven and magazine editor Melinda Mitchell shuns the social media spotlight. That is, until a tipsy girl’s night out ends with her first Facebook account and a friend request from none other than her secret high school crush, Nolan Parker.

When Nolan lost his chance at the big leagues, he signed on with Doctors Without Borders and never looked back. Now he’s back home to help out his ailing father. Running into Mel at his fifteen-year high school reunion rekindles old feelings he thought he’d buried for good.

Intrigued by Nolan’s irresistibly sexy profile, Melinda heads to the reunion with her best friend to see if the picture matches up to the man. Their instant attraction flares brighter than the Manhattan skyline.

Although the tough fashionista and accomplished ex-jock rub each other the very right way, a few stumbling blocks will decide if the heat between them is a symptom of forever love, or a past that should be left where it belongs.

ROMANCING is available now: http://amzn.to/2au12R8

Upcoming I am thrilled to be in an holiday anthology with bestselling authors Donna Hill and Farrah Rochon called HOLIDAY TEMPTATION with three sexy stories to satisfy your holiday desires. It is available for pre-order now. Here is a bit about my story: FROM HERE TO SERENITY :

holiday-temptation-cover-medUnstoppable real-estate developer Ross Montgomery is under orders to get some holiday R&R. A cruise to Miami on his yacht, “The Serenity,” is the perfect place to start—especially when he meets his new personal chef, Essie Bradford. Between her calming presence, her amazing food, and her delectable beauty, Ross just might develop a taste for the good life. And when the two discover they have a lot in common—including an irresistible attraction—the next course may be a spicy New Year…

HOLIDAY TEMPTATION is available now: http://bit.ly/2aqYmFb

Fun Facts 

FF: What is your favorite thing to do before a book signing?

KJ: Gather my favorite pens.

FF: What city would you love to have a book signing or speaking engagement?

KJ: I really don’t enjoy speaking in front of crowds but I love meeting people face to face. I’d say Australia. My books have been doing well there and I’d love to meet those fans and say thank you.

FF: What is your favorite drink or beverage?

KJ: Coffee. Always coffee.

FF: Are you an early bird or night owl?

KJ: I love the night life!

FF: If you could collaborate on a book with any author, who would it be and why?

KJ: Oh gosh that is hard. I just had a huge dream come true with Farrah Rochon and Donna Hill with HOLIDAY TEMPTATION so I don’t want to appear greedy. I think I should quit while ahead and say thank you for the blessing I just received and if more comes my way? Just wow.

FF: What is one tip you would give authors on how to show appreciation for their readers?

KJ: Just respect. Everyone will not like all you write and that is ok. You don’t like all you read either. I’m always surprised and grateful that anyone has read my words.

FF: What advice would you give your younger self?

KJ: Just keep going. It won’t get easier but it will be worth it.

FF: What is one thing you would change about your life?

KJ: There is no need going there. You can’t change the past or control the future. Better to focus on the fiction stories you can control.

FF: What is your motto for life and career?

KJ: I don’t have just one motto. My life changes constantly and I pull on what I need when I need it.

FF: What is your favorite scripture or quote?

KJ: Psalm 27.

FF: Thanks for stopping today.

KJ: Thank you. Once again it was an honor to be here today!

2 thoughts on “In My Neighborhood: Interview with K. M. Jackson”

Leave a Reply

