In My Fuzzy Neighborhood

In My Fuzzy Neighborhood: Author Kathryn Leigh Scott

As Always card

Visiting In My Fuzzy Neighborhood is Author/actress Kathryn Leigh Scott. She is the author of Jinxed (2015) and Down and Out in Beverly Heels (2013) the first two mystery novels about amateur sleuth Jinx Fogarty.  Kathryn also wrote nonfiction Dark Shadows: Return to Collinwood and the paranormal mystery Dark Passages with an affectionate nod to her stint on Dark Shadows. She has also written the memoir Last Dance at the Savoy: Life, Love and Caring For Someone With Supranucler Palsy (2016) and completed the novel September Girl. She continues to work as an actress  (The Goldbergs and Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D).

Let’s get to know a little bit more about Kathryn Leigh Scott:

FF: Can you tell us four words that describe your writing style?

KLS: Mysteries and romance: humorous, edgy, fast-paced, surprising

Memoir: candid, probing, insightful, accessible

FF: Do you have a writing process? If yes, briefly explain.

KLS: I begin with “what if?” and write a paragraph in answer; then the work begins! The paragraph becomes a synopsis, a loose outline and eventually a book.

FF: Why do you write books?

KLS: I’m compelled to write and I learn so much I didn’t know I knew.

FF: Describe your ideal place of escape to write your books.

KLS: My leather chair and footstool with my laptop on my lap

FF: Tell us about your current book.

KLS: I have just completed SEPTEMBER GIRL, a stand-alone fiction book about a romance rediscovered that I’ve wanted to write for a long time. I’ve also written LAST DANCE AT THE SAVOY: Life, love and Caring For Someone With Supranuclear Palsy, a memoir that is more about life and love than the prime of life disease that claimed my husband.

FF: What prompted you to share this story?

NEW savoy sales graphic blk jpgKLS: LAST DANCE AT THE SAVOY is the book I wished I could read when my husband was diagnosed with this rare brain disease, one of a family of neurological diseases that Robin Williams was also diagnosed with, and for which there is no treatment or cure. I kept a journal while caregiving and that diary provided the template for the book.

 

Fun Facts

FF: What is your favorite thing to do before a book signing?

KLS: Take a deep breath and remember to be entertaining and brief!

FF: What city would you love to have a book signing or speaking engagement?

KLS: Honestly, I’ve already held book signings in London, Los Angeles, New York, Chicago, Minneapolis and too many other great places to properly list. How about Paris? But then I’d require an interpreter.

FF: What is your favorite drink or beverage?

KLS: Water, followed closely by wine

FF: Are you a early bird or night owl?

KLS: Early!

FF: If you could collaborate on a book with any author, who would it be and why?

KLS: Edith Wharton, for Heaven’s sake!

FF: What is one tip you would give authors on how to show appreciation for their readers?

KLS: Assume their appreciation of language! The joy of reading is finding precise, expressive use of language to convey ideas and emotions . . . and if the perfect word choice is not widely known, I’ll use it anyway. Again, thank you Edith Wharton, PD James, Julian Barnes, etc. etc.

Getting Serious

FF: What advice would you give your younger self?

KLS: Leap in! Have confidence in yourself.

FF: What is one thing you would change about your life?

KLS: I’d be younger and know all I know now.

FF: What is your motto for life and career?

KLS: If not now, when?

FF: What is your favorite scripture or quote?

KLS: Love thy neighbor . . .

FF: Thanks for the interview.

KLS: Thanks for having me.

To learn more about Kathryn Leigh Scott and to purchase any of her titles, visit her at http://www.kathrynleighscott.com/

Leave a Reply

